On Love – Entry 2

Image

Again pondering the question, “What is something that I love that has absolutely no negative connotations??” Let’s talk about my hound, Homer.  The saying “Any woman who says diamonds are a girl’s best friend has never known the love of a dog,” comes to mind. So true, so true!  I love all of my frilly little girly things a whole heck of a lot but this hound is truly a gift of grace! Right now, I’m dealing with a particularly debilitating relapse in my depression.  Circumstances are overwhelming and most of my time is spent within the four walls of my bedroom. When I think about the journey out of my depression the first thing that comes to mind is my dog lying beside me under the covers with his head on the pillow and his nose nuzzled against my neck.  I concentrate on his breathing and pet his silky soft ears and a peace comes over me. I tell him, “Homer, we have to get up and go for a walk,” and the mention of that one small word W-A-L-K makes him so happy that his whole body wags in time with his tail! Just to see that utter joy sends a wave of hope through to my soul.  And when we step outside and journey to the stream together and sit along the banks to listen to the bubbling all is right with the world!

About coffeeandkitties

I am a romantic in every possible sense of the word!
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

